Join British Cycling

Cross: Vet ace Davies storms to Plymouth win

South West League R12
Location: Brickfields Sports Centre, Plymouth, Devon
Event: 22 December 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photo: Andy Whitehouse

National Trophy Series veterans leader Steve Davies (Hargroves Cycles) notched up another victory in the South West League in Plymouth on Sunday, crossing the line almost two minutes clear of his nearest rival at the Brickfields Sports Centre.

The 53-year-old from Bideford in Devon, who has been the top over-50 rider in all five rounds of the National Trophy Series so far, continued his dominance of the South West League too when he took the win ahead of Dexter Hurlock (Mondraker) with Matt Loake (South Fork Racing) third.

Hurlock had set the early pace in the race, which was run off on a relatively wet course which had dried only slightly with the onset of some sunshine. However, a mechanical forced Hurlock to head to the pits, following which he returned on a mountain bike, while Davies had taken the lead and powered on to a convincing victory.

While Hurlock was stuck in no-man’s land, Matt Loake had a job on his hands holding on to third spot with veteran Stuart Pickering (Cyclelogic) just 12 seconds behind him, and Jay Horton (Fully Sussed) another 25sec off the pace by the line.

CS Dynamo youngster Charlie McFadzean was best junior in ninth spot, while Maddie Horton (Fully Sussed) was fastest female.

More soon.


1 Steve Davies (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Dexter Hurlock (Mondraker) @ 1:53
3 Matt Loake (South Fork Racing) @ 2:37
4 Stuart Pickering (Cyclelogic) @ 2:49
5 Jay Horton (Fully Sussed) @ 3:14
6 Colin Tyrer (Wild MTB Holidays) @ 3:23
7 Roy Wyle-Smith (360 Performance) @ 3:47
8 Robin Delve (Mid Devon CC) @ 3:52
9 Charlie McFadzean (CS Dynamo) @ 4:00
10 Matt Noble (Plymouth CX) @ 4:09

Over-50s: Steve Davies.
Over-40s: Stuart Pickering.
Juniors: Charlie McFadzean.
Women: Maddie Horton (Fully Sussed).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.